bar mitzvah, bat mitzvah planning guide
You Tube
Linked In

metallic spacer gif metallic spacer gif metallic spacer gif bar mitzvah formatting box

Marriage License Requirements

New York

  • Both parties must apply in person to a town or city clerk in the state
  • Must have proof of identification and age and bring certified documents of how previous marriages ended
  • A witness of at least 18 years of age must be present
  • Waiting period is 24 hours
  • The cost is $35-$50
  • Valid for 60 days

New Jersey

  • Must go to the Registrar of Vital Statistics in the bride’s hometown. If the bride does not live in the state of New Jersey, you can apply at the municipal office of the groom's town. If both the bride and groom are from out of state, apply at the municipal office of the town where the ceremony will take place.
  • Bring a valid form of identification and social security card and documents that previous marriages have ended
  • Birth certificates are required for as proof of age (if not available, 2 other forms of identification will be sufficient)
  • A witness over the age 18 must be present
  • The cost is $28
  • Valid for 30 days. It is recommended that you apply at least two weeks before the ceremony.


  • Appear before the town clerk with a valid form of identification, completed marriage license application
  • Parties can appear individually or together
  • Show divorce decrees or death of previous spouse
  • A test for venereal diseases is required
  • The cost ranges from $30-$50
  • Valid for 65 days


  • Apply in person with the person you are planning on marrying at the county clerks office (located in the county courthouse)
  • Bring a photo identification, and death or previous marriage certificates
  • Pay $25-$50 (depending on county) in cash
  • License will be granted three days after you apply
  • Valid for 60 days


  • Only one applicant needs to be present and they must bring with them a form of identification with proof of age and Social security number for both parties. Residency is not required for bride or groom.
  • Show all divorce decrees
  • License will be granted within 48 hours
  • Valid for 6 months
  • Couple must marry within the county they register. Cost is $35-$60 cash, varies by County.

Washington DC

  • Residency is not required but a valid photo identification is along with social security number
  • Both bride and groom must be present to apply and sign the license
  • Blood tests are required and must be done somewhere in DC
  • Bring certificate of death or divorce
  • The cost is $45 (cash)
  • There is a five day waiting period


  • Licenses are issued by a clerk or his deputy clerk of a circuit
  • But bring a valid drivers license, documentation of previous marriages
  • Valid for 60 days
  • The cost is $30 (cash)


  • Both the bride and groom must apply in person with a valid form of identification
  • Both parties must sign a sworn affidavit with both their social security number and age
  • Supply information of previous marriages, the dates, and why they ended
  • All applicants must read the “Family Law Handbook”
  • Must take a premarital preparation course to qualify for a license if you are not a resident of Florida. Taking this course could give you a $30 discount off of the actual license (only available in certain counties)
  • If you complete the course you can receive your license the same day
  • The cost ranges from $50-$90
  • Valid for 60 days

Search This Site:


Articles and Features

Bookmark this site 

Visit our other sites:

Proms Plus!

Caring Communities

World of Possibilities

Amazing Baby and Child Expo

Milestones Expos

Brides and Grooms Expo

Red Carpet Bridal Tours

Groundwire Records

Charm City Countdown

site map

Our Publications     Advertise with Us     Contact Us     Shows & Expos     Helpful Links     What's New?     Forum
Copyright 2003-2011 Milestone Media GroupWebsite by